FLIGHT 171 – Amy Christine Parker

by TPSreader rosariog27

This January I read Flight 171 by Amy Christine Parker. I give this book 4.75 out of 5 stars. I stepped out of my comfort zone and read a horror/thriller book, but I have to say, I am very pleased. I had trouble getting into the book at first, but when I started getting into it, I couldn’t put it down. The development of Devon was very pleasing. In the beginning she was very caught up in her grief. We see her in the 5 stages of grief. In the beginning of the book, she was in the third stage of bargaining. She was trying to become her sister, Emily, and was trying to find the person who killed her to give her peace. If she found that out in the beginning of the book, we would have never seen Devon forgive herself and actually be at peace with Emily’s death. 

Towards the middle of the book, she was in the stage of depression. She was so mad at herself that she couldn’t keep her emotions in and she couldn’t even trust herself to lead the group when the old lady took control. In the end she was in the stage of acceptance for Emily and Carter. She knew Andrew killed Emily and she let him handle the problem of telling the authorities and his family because she accepted it. She knew that no one could bring her back and this was no one’s fault. This was an accident and she needed to accept that. I loved how she incorporated alcoholism and how Jack realized how his actions could have ended and used that to show his growth. I love that we can grow to love Jack because we finally see he only wanted the best for Devon. I wasn’t expecting Andrew to have killed Emily. He doesn’t seem like the type to live with that and I feel like that is really something that hooked me to the book. I also wasn’t expecting Yara to be secretly dating Emily. That also shows that Devon definitely did not pay much attention to Emily and that helps us see that. In the end I am left questioning. I think this is a sign that the book was amazing. Was Devon really just seeing things? Is the old lady really dead? Are they next for killing? I am hoping we get a sequel from Amy Christine Parker because this book is amazing. 

Leave a comment